September 2018

There are 772 year round residents of Key Colony Beach, however the population peaks to about 3,800 in mid-winter and averages around 2,000 the rest of the year.  The city was developed in the early fifties by founder Phil Sadowski.  The City was established in 1957.  The city is situated on 286 acres with approximately 1439 housing units and 89 undeveloped lots.

City property includes the City Hall Offices and Auditorium,  the Post Office, the City Recreation Areas between 7th & 8th Streets, 2 Public Works Buildings, the Wastewater Treatment Plant, the Golf Course, City Hall Park, Gazebo Park, East Side Park, Sunset Park, Water Front Park and the City entrance.

Development Includes
295 single family homes
663 duplex homes
480 condominium units in 20 complexes
83 motel rooms
4 residences attached to commercial buildings
18 commercial establishments

As of September 2018 the total taxable property value in Key Colony Beach was $715,106,516.  The general fund budget for FY 18-19 is $4,886,238.  The millage rate is set at 2.4979 per $1,000 of assessed property value.  The combined FY 17-18 operating budget for the wastewater treatment plant and the stormwater collection systems is $1,778,951 and is financed by user fees.  The complete budget is available on the City website.

Five city commissioners elected for four-year staggered terms govern Key Colony Beach.  City elections are non-partisan and are held each year on the 2nd Tuesday in September.  The current city commissioners are Mayor John DeNeale, Vice Mayor Ron Sutton, Commissioners Jim Pettorini, Patti Trefry and April Tracy.

At the 1st commission meeting in December the new commission elects a Mayor and Vice-Mayor from its members and appoints the City Administrator, City Clerk, the Building Official, the Police Chief, the City Attorney, the City auditor and the City Engineer.  Management of the City wastewater collection and treatment facility and the City Golf Course are performed under contract.

Fifteen employees assist the city commission including a staff of five in the City Administrator’s office: a five-member police department, and a staff of four in the building/public works department.

Six volunteer Boards and Committees advise and help the City Commission and City Administrator.  These are the Code Enforcement Board, the Utility Board, the Planning and Zoning Board, the Disaster Preparedness Committee, the Beautification Committee and the Recreation Committee.