<u>Minutes</u>

KEY COLONY BEACH CITY COMMISSION ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Thursday, December 9, 2021 – 9:30 a.m. Marble Hall & Virtually via Zoom Conferencing

- 1. <u>Call to Order, Pledge of Allegiance, Prayer, Roll Call:</u> The Key Colony Beach City Commission Organizational Meeting was called to order by Commissioner Sutton at 9:30 a.m. *Present:* Commissioner Ron Sutton, Commissioner Patricia Trefry, Commissioner Kathryn McCullough, Commissioner DeNeale, and Commissioner Tom Harding. *Also Present:* City Administrator Dave Turner, City Clerk Silvia Gransee, City Attorney Dirk Smits, Public Works Supervisor Mike Guarino, Building Official Gerard Roussin, Building Inspector Greg Lawton, Police Chief Kris DiGiovanni, Code Enforcement Officer Stacy Stahl, and Fire Chief John Johnson. Public: 10, Virtual 9
- **2.** <u>Call for Nominations for Office of Mayor:</u> City Attorney Dirk Smits called for nomination to the Office of Mayor. Commissioner DeNeale nominated Commissioner Trefry for the Office of Mayor. There being no further nomination Commissioner Trefry was elected to the Office of Mayor.
- **3.** Call for Nominations for Office of Vice-Mayor: Mayor Trefry called for the nomination to the Office of Vice-Mayor. Commissioner McCullough nominated Commissioner Tom Harding to the Office of Vice-Mayor. Mayor Trefry nominated Commissioner DeNeale to the Office of Vice-Mayor. Mayor Trefry asked for a show of hand for Commissioner Harding for the office of Vice-Mayor. Commissioner Sutton, Commissioner Harding, and Commissioner McCullough raised their hands. Commissioner Harding was named Vice-Mayor by majority vote.
- **4.** <u>Call for Nominations for Office of Secretary-Treasurer:</u> Mayor Trefry called for the nomination to the office of Secretary-Treasurer. Commissioner McCullough nominated Commissioner DeNeale for the Office of Secretary-Treasurer. Commissioner DeNeale respectfully declined the nomination. Commissioner Sutton nominated Commissioner McCullough for the Office of Secretary-Treasurer. There being no further nomination Commissioner McCullough was reelected to the Office of Secretary-Treasurer.

5. Appointment by Motion to the Following Offices

MOTION: Motion made by Secretary-Treasurer Kathryn McCullough to appoint the following persons to their respective office.

ON THE MOTION: The Commission approved by acclamation.

- 1. Chief of Police Kris DiGiovanni
- 2. City Attorney Dirk Smits
- 3. City Auditor Julio Buzzi
- 4. City Building Official Gerard Roussin
- 5. City Engineer Daryle L. Osborn
- 6. City Clerk Silvia Gransee
- 7. City Administrator Dave Turner
- 8. Code Enforcement Officer Stacy Stahl
- **6.** <u>Appointment by Motion to Volunteer Committees</u>: Beautification, Code Enforcement, Planning & Zoning, Recreation, Utility Board, Disaster Preparedness.

Mayor Trefry read the names of volunteers for the before mentioned volunteer committees.

Secretary-Treasurer McCullough questioned the nomination of Freddie Foster and Kimmeron Lisle to the Code Enforcement Board. Mayor Trefry deferred to City Attorney Smits on addressing the issue. City Attorney Smits explained that this is an election and the decision lays with the Commission. Mayor Trefry proposed that Freddie Foster and Kimmeron Lisle will be appointed to the volunteer committee today, and a solution can be found prior to the next meeting. Mayor Trefry asked the Commission for agreement or if they would like to remove both Freddie Foster and Kimmeron Lisle today from the board. The Commission agreed with the Mayor to appoint both to the Code Enforcement Board.

MOTION: Motion made by Commissioner Sutton, seconded by Vice-Mayor Harding, to appoint the below mentioned volunteers to their respective committee.

ON THE MOTION: Roll call vote. Unanimous approval.

* = First time appointee. All others are being re-appointed.

Beautification - 2-year Term Greg Burke

David McKeehan Pam Geronemus*

Code Enforcement - 3-year Term Larry Wagner

Kimmeron Lisle* Freddie Foster*

Recreation - 2-year Term Ted Fischer

Sally Flag Frank Tremblay Anita Alferes

Richard Pflueger, Alt.

Planning & Zoning - 2-year Term Mike Yunker*

George Lancaster Tom DiFransico

Steve DeCrow, 1st Alternate Ron Anderson, 2nd Alternate

Utility Board - 1-year Term James Ha

Mike Alexander Freddie Foster Anthony Fernandes Lin Walsh, Alt.

Disaster Preparedness - 1-year Term Gerard Roussin

Kris DiGiovanni

Greg Lawton Mike Guarino*

John Dalton Ed Sims Ian Almodovar Jesse Peterson

7. <u>Designation of Signers for Bank Accounts and City Investments</u>:

MOTION: Motion made by Commissioner Sutton, seconded by Vice-Mayor Harding, to designate

signers for bank accounts and city investments by the order below.

ON THE MOTION: Roll call vote. Unanimous approval.

Approved signers: Mayor, Vice-Mayor, City Secretary-Treasurer, City Clerk. Two signatures needed for transactions. One signature may be City Clerk; one signature may be any other designated signer.

8. <u>Designation of Signers for Safe Deposit Box</u>:

MOTION: Motion made by Commissioner DeNeale, seconded by Commissioner Sutton, to designate signers below for the safe deposit box.

DISCUSSION: The designated signer of Assistant to City Clerk was removed from the Motion as this position is not currently filled.

ON THE MOTION: Roll call vote. Unanimous approval.

Approved signers: Mayor, Vice-Mayor, City Treasurer, City Clerk, Asst. to City Clerk, Utility Board Clerk. One signature shall be City Clerk, Assistant to City Clerk, or Utility Board Clerk; one signature shall be any other designated signer.

9. <u>Authorization for City Clerk to Execute the Public Depositors Annual Report to the State of</u> Florida:

MOTION: Motion made by Commissioner DeNeale, seconded by Vice-Mayor Harding, to authorize the City Clerk to execute the Public Depositors Annual Report to the State of Florida. **ON THE MOTION:** Roll call vote. Unanimous approval.

10. Adoption of Bank Resolutions

MOTION: Motion made by Vice-Mayor Harding, seconded by Secretary-Treasurer McCullough, to adopt the bank resolutions.

ON THE MOTION: Roll call vote. Unanimous approval.

11. The meeting adjourned at 9:41am.

Respectfully Submitted, *Silva Gransee*Silvia Gransee
City Clerk

ADOPTED: January 13, 2022 Sílvía Gransee City Clerk